Skip to content

Disability as a Source of Creativity

June 5, 2012

Prior to taking Bodily Rhetoric course,  I used to regard that disability had a concrete and clear definition; and I thought that there had been obvious demarcation between ‘able-bodiedness’ and ‘disabled’. I had a narrow point of view regarding people with disability and non-disability since I used to discriminate them based on mere physical ableness; thus, I had conservative feeling towards the people with disability.  However, having gone through many articles related to rhetoric and disability, my mind set has tremendously been transformed. ‘Can disability represent anything other than deformed bodies?’ became a serious concern to me.  I had found many accomplishments-in the field of literature, social welfare, and sport, music, and so on done by people with disability. While I was reading one of the articles of Bodily Rhetoric course, I knew that many famous authors such as John Milton, Alexander Pope, George Byron, Samuel Johnson, John Keats, and Virginia Woolf were either disabled or chronically ill. There are many renowned writers, who commenced to implement their brain for the creation of something great; as a result, they became famous after being differently-able. All the above-mentioned reasons made me think that disability can be a source of creativity. Last but not lists, therefore, in my opinion disability, rhetoric and creativity are intrinsically attached with each other like a nail and flesh.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment